Feeding the hungry, IN State Fair style (and Giveaway!)

I haven’t been grocery shopping for too long. So last night I served pizza rolls, 4 scrambled eggs, 6 pieces of bacon, hashbrowns and fresh carrots to my family of 5 for dinner. Cameran was not happy with my selections (which was seriously almost all the food in our house) – and then she realized that there were kids and families who eat less than this every single day, with no other option. She quickly quieted and ate her food, sitting at our dining room table, with her entire family intact, under the roof of a more than adequate home.

Living in the city is hard. I love it, don’t get me wrong, but I often struggle with the things I see from my front porch:

  • a failing public school system
  • poverty
  • drug and alcohol abuse
  • homelessness
  • single-parent homes
  • violence
  • hunger

Every single one of those I listed above affects the people of my city. And it breaks my heart that so many children and families are struggling with such difficult problems each and every day.

Here’s the thing: we can help those in need. And in a way that makes my State Fair loving heart happy.

Indiana State Fair attendees who follow the Indiana’s Family of Farmers (IFOF) Recipe Trail at the fairgrounds will help feed the hungry (and win a prize while you’re at it).

For each person who finishes the trail, IFOF is partnering with Feeding Indiana’s Hungry (FIsH) to donate one pound of food to food banks across Indiana. A total of 2,000 pounds of food was donated last year. This year’s goal is 3,000 pounds! So that means 3,000 people are needed to go through the recipe trail to attain the goal.

All you need to do is collect recipe cards from 8 locations around the Fairgrounds and bring them to the Family of Farmers Booth at the DuPont Food Pavilion where you will collect your 9th card. (Recipe cards will feature recipes from real farmers around Indiana and highlight Indiana’s commodities such as pork, beef, poultry, soybeans, corn, lamb, fish and dairy along with an Indiana wine pairing. On the flip side of the cards, State Fairgoers will meet the farmer and read a personal food story from his or her family.) There, you will win a special prize for completing the trail and have a chance to register for the daily dairy giveaway and the grand prize of a Frigidaire® chest freezer.

How cool is that? All you have to do is walk around the State Fair and pick up 9 recipe cards and a pound of food will be donated to an Indiana food bank. Easy peasy.

Wanna know what else is easy peasy? Winning 2 Indiana State Fair tickets and a set of Dairy Coupons (2 Milkshakes, 2 Grilled Cheese & 2 Kid Meals) thanks to Indiana’s Family of Farmers! All you have to do is leave one comment below sharing something relevant to this post. (You have to do this to be entered into the giveaway.)

Want to increase your chances of winning? You can earn up to 2 more entries by:

  1. Sharing this post on Facebook. Come back and leave another comment telling me you did so with a link to your personal Facebook page.
  2. Tweeting about this giveaway. Something like this: “Enter to win 2 tix+food to @IndyStateFair from @FamilyofFarmers and learn how to help @FeedINsHungry donate food too! http://wp.me/p1hksh-9y”. Again, come back and leave another comment telling me you tweeted with a link to the tweet.

Details: The contest is open through Wednesday, July 25th. The winner will be chosen and contacted via email on Thursday, July 26th (so please make sure your email address is included in at least one of your comments below so I can reach you). The winner will have 24 hours to reply or another winner will be chosen.

(You can also head over to GotchaBabyIndianapolis with Kids and Redefining Perfect to enter their giveaways too.)

Even if you don’t win, you definitely still need to go to the State Fair and do the Recipe Trail to help IFOF and FIsH donate at least 3,000 pounds of food this year. Want to go on the cheap? Find out how here.

________________________________________________________________

Disclosure: As an IFOF Ambassador, I received two tickets (plus food coupons) to attend the Indiana State Fair and two tickets (plus food coupons) for this giveaway. This is a sponsored post, though as always, all thoughts and opinions are totally mine, mine, mine. (As Lucas would say. And let’s be honest, Alaina and Cami too.)

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Feeding the hungry, IN State Fair style (and Giveaway!)

  1. Pingback: Indiana State Fair on a budget |

  2. joanna says:

    I’ve already got my state fair visits on the calendar! Speaking of the State Fair and milk… I’ll be volunteering at the Lactation Stations at the fair. I’m excited to meet all the moms & babies!

  3. Love it!! I love when a community comes together to help others! You never know when you might be in need, so give when you can!
    Love the State Fair and can’t wait to go back this year! My family will participate in this!

  4. punkinmama says:

    I had no idea about this challenge and the fact they’ve done this previously! Thanks for the info! And I can’t wait to go to the Fair (more than once, I’m sure)!

  5. Sandy Barton / Verbena says:

    Shared on facebook!!

  6. Sandy Barton / Verbena says:

    Sounds like a great activity for all ages. I will be at PIONEER VILLAGE , so stop by & visit with VERBENA!!!!! (But I won’t have a recipe card.)

  7. Kendra says:

    Your post immediately resonated with me. I often have to remind my picky eater that she is so lucky to have so much food at her fingertips. We are all so lucky. We live on the near eastside of Indy and I agree it can be so disheartening sometimes to see all of the challenges our neighbors face. I had no idea that they did this at the fair, my husband and I go every year on our anniversary and I will be sure to do the recipe trail while we are there this time (and every year after.)

  8. Tracy Lounsbery says:

    If you need a great reason to go to the State Fair … Here it is!!

  9. Kendra says:

    Shared on Facebook

  10. jennifer says:

    The state fair is something my whole looks forward to every year!

  11. We missed the fair last year and don’t want that to happen again. This recipe thing sounds like a great idea (not that we needed more excuses to get there).

  12. Denise Wilson says:

    We always look forward to the State Fair! That is usually our “vacation” for the year…
    We take advantage of the free tickets in the newspaper, thankfully!
    But, these tickets and the free food would be amazing! Thanks for the opportunity to win.
    The kids love the tractors and the animals. We always get a pineapple whip, not much else because of the cost. We marked the calendar a while ago… 🙂

  13. Doreen H says:

    Thank you for the opportunity to win this prize package! We are retired and are trying to pinch our pennies. But we love to go to the State Fair!

  14. Robert says:

    My kiddos would love the free food for sure! We are planning on attending the Fair this year. Thanks for the chance to win!

  15. Curt and Julie W. says:

    We look forward to going each year! A little disappointed about the higher priced admission and the parking fee this year. But, we will take advantage of the free tickets in the newspaper and $2 Tuesdays! Thank you for the giveaway!

  16. Shelly Powell says:

    I was so happy to see your post. I sometimes forget how lucky we are and how we really take things for granted. I live in a small town in Indiana and I see everyday people helping those in need and am proud of our community and their hands on approach!

  17. SHelly Powell says:

    Tweeted
    Shelly Powell ‏@tiptonmom Enter to win 2 tix+food to @IndyStateFair from @FamilyofFarmers and learn how to help @FeedINsHungry donate food too! http://wp.me/p1hksh-9y

  18. Amy Shaw says:

    I participated in the recipe trail last year with my 3 older sisters. It was fun, kind of like a scavenger hunt, and just one more fun memory from our first trip to the fair all together! We enjoyed the recipes and the people we got to meet along the way! I love the State Fair!

  19. Toni says:

    Thank you so much for the opportunity to win these great prizes! I will DEFINITELY do the recipe trail at the Fair this year!

  20. Jill says:

    i tweeted about your contest because I want you to reach the 3,000 lb food goal you have set this year! Good luck! And what a great cause it is!

  21. I love the state fair. This year is special since it is the year of the dairy cow and I have been a dairy farmer my whole life. The recipe cards are a great ideal

  22. Very well said, we just moved from downtown and there are many depressing things, but I feel there are more positives that Mayor Ballard has accomplished. With that said I shared this post on facebook

  23. I also re-tweeted this post

  24. Tracie Egger says:

    I have shared on FB and sent a tweet! I hope all of my friends take part in feeding Indiana’s hungry! I too love the recipe card idea to promote the dairy industry. Great job!
    http://www.facebook.com/tracie.egger?ref=tn_tnmn#!/tracie.egger
    https://twitter.com/tracie1087/status/226011961371017216

  25. Katie says:

    I love the Indiana State Fair! Thanks for doing this contest.

  26. tonya beeler says:

    Mmmmmm….dairy

  27. justin says:

    from many front porches we see this if we work together we and make a differnce for many

  28. justin says:

    i shared link on facebook

  29. We love the state fair and looking forward tohelping feed the hungry

  30. Aimee W says:

    We are hoping to go to the fair this year….we will be collecting recipe cards and turning them in…I think the kids would enjoy that! 🙂

  31. tinlizzy3 says:

    Oh, how I love the Dairy Barn…counting down the days to eating a delicious grilled cheese.

  32. tinlizzy3 says:

    FB’ed too (…having trouble remembering how to paste the link details)

  33. Sacha says:

    This is the first I’ve heard of the IFOF Recipe Trail. What a wonderful, fun thing to do! Thanks for sharing. Will certainly participate should I win the tickets.

  34. Jared Bramer says:

    Thank you for the great information about the fair! This years theme is on of my favorites.

  35. Sandra says:

    Super excited about the Fair and the trail sounds like something that will be fun for the kids. My girls love cooking.

  36. Sandra says:

    Also shared it on Facebook!

  37. Pingback: Indiana State Fair Recipe Trail and Ticket Giveaway from IFOF | Indianapolis with Kids

  38. jeni says:

    Can not wait for the state fair this year.

  39. jeni says:

    Shared on Facebook, too. 🙂
    jeni_lyn@yahoo.com

  40. Alicia says:

    My children have been asking since last August when it will be time for the Fair again. I’m hoping for some beautiful weather during the fair.

  41. krista M says:

    This is so awesome that the state fair is taking advantage of the opportunity of all the people there to try to give back to the community…You never know when you might be in need and if I get to go to the fair my family will definitely be doing this…Thanks so much!! 🙂

  42. krista M says:

    Shared on Facebook 🙂

  43. Pingback: State Fair Giveaway – Win While Helping Feed | Redefining Perfect

  44. Amy says:

    Shared on FB

  45. Amy says:

    Tweeted

  46. Amy says:

    Abby Brown and Gates are dying to go to the fair during our trip to Indy!

  47. I am excited to help the Indiana food banks by participating in the Recipe Trail at the fair both days we are planning on going to the fair this year! As a recipient of food from food pantries in the past, I know how important it is to help those in need. This is such an awesome way to help out! Thanks for the chance to win! jwhitx2 at yahoo dot com

  48. I tweeted about your giveaway, but I don’t know how to figure out getting a link to my tweet! @jmwhitlock is my twitter handle

  49. lauren says:

    i love the state fair! and the dairy barn!

  50. lauren says:

    tweeted

  51. kelly gray says:

    i posted about the contest on fb- (not sure how to just show this specific post for it but here is the post to my homepage https://www.facebook.com/kelly.l.gray.39

  52. kelly gray says:

    I tweeted about the giveaway kjgray2005

  53. kelly gray says:

    looking forward to a cool afternoon to visit the fair with my family to enjoy good times, fun and being together!

  54. I would love to follow the recipe trail, but I’m wondering with kids if we’ll have a challenge getting it all done? Short attention span and all, ya know?

  55. sunducky says:

    This is really neat. We’ll definitely have to remember to pick up the recipe cards while we walk around.

  56. sunducky says:

  57. emiley gaskill says:

    Indiana family of farmers are giving away tickets to the dairy bar at the IN State fair! Checkout their website to see how to enter to win!

  58. ldskatelyn says:

    I would love to go to the State Fair! I haven’t been, but would love to!

  59. Tara VW says:

    I agree, living in the city can be so hard! Recipe Trail sounds neat. Kids are so excited for the fair this year! Thanks!

  60. Pingback: Indiana State Fair 2012…The Year of the Dairy Cow… - BasilMomma

Leave a Reply

