It *might* be starting already. {recipe too!}

OH. YEAH.

It’s summer. Know what that means? STATE. FAIR. You do remember my obsession with the State Fair, right?

Yes, I know it’s still 40 days away (who’s counting?!) but I’m starting to see advertisements for concerts and I just read that this year is the “Official Year of the Dairy Cows” at the fair. Which makes sense, considering Indiana is home to more than 1,500 dairy farms that produce 3.5 billion pounds of milk, contributing to Indiana being 2nd in the nation in low-fat and regular ice cream production. {You know, just a little tidbit of summer knowledge for you. 🙂 }

Dude, we love dairy in this house – cheese, yogurt, milk, ice cream. So naturally, we love dairy cows. And so naturally, I’m *already* stoked about the State Fair. And, did you know that June is Dairy Month?! They have a *DAIRY* month, yo.

So to honor dairy cows and dairy month, and as a commencement for my excitement for the State Fair, I made a yogurt-based peanut butter dessert dip to take to our neighborhood Supper Club tonight. (Normally, Sunday nights are cook-free if I’m not up to host our weekly dinner, but tonight’s dinner was super-sized as we combined our group with a bordering neighborhood’s supper club at our ‘hood’s playground, and I signed up to bring dessert.)

Here’s the recipe (based off this one from allrecipes.com):

________________________________________________________________

Peanut Butter Fruit Dip

  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup whipped topping, thawed

Combine first three ingredients until well-blended. Fold in whipped topping and chill. Serve with fresh fruit (apple slices work perfectly), pretzels and/or graham crackers.

________________________________________________________________

I love this dip because it’s healthy and you can serve it with healthy dippers. I would probably use Greek yogurt next time to thicken it just a bit. You could always add miniature chocolate chips and serve with nilla wafers too. That would be good. Naughtier, but good. 🙂

The best part is that my kids think it’s dessert, so when I give it to them for lunch tomorrow with apple slices, they’ll think it’s some ultra-special occasion and I’ll get extra “good mommy” points.

Seriously, I could stick it in the freezer and eat it with a spoon once frozen, it’s that good. Honestly, you should probably replace your other junky delights with this dip because you gained 5 pounds in the last 6 weeks. Oh, that wasn’t you? Sorry, it must have been me…

________________________________________________________________

I am thankful to be working with Indiana’s Family of Farmers as a Table Talk Contributor over the next year. This is a sponsored post, though as always, all thoughts and opinions are totally mine, mine, mine. (As Lucas would say.)

You can find IFOF on Facebook, Twitter or on their blog

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It *might* be starting already. {recipe too!}

  1. I had some of that dip yesterday. So good…

  2. Shu says:

    I’m totally going to try this! I remember you mentioning your blog at Cindy’s a couple weeks ago. Awesome that you have a supper club! Mmmm!

  3. Pingback: 111 School Lunch Ideas - GOODEness Gracious

Leave a Reply

