Internet Friends

This whole blogging thing really has changed my life. Yes, I’ve had an outlet for rants, love and things I’m passionate about. But that’s not the main reason my life has changed.

The best change has been the people I’ve met.

See, I thought I was starting this blog because I missed writing and wanted an outlet. I knew my life was going to change dramatically when I essentially became a stay-at-home mom. I anticipated writing to address my own struggles and transition, and hopefully to reach someone else who felt the same way.

Don’t get me wrong – all of that has happened. But through blogging, I’ve met a wonderful group of women who have become my friends. And not just on the internet. Real friends, in real life.

When I first heard the acronym “IRL” in social media and on blogs, I wondered why people were talking about the Indy Racing League in those settings. It was so odd to me. So I googled it and learned that it meant “in real life.” (You know, because I do that when I don’t want to sound stupid asking what something means. Not that it happens very often…)

It’s funny to me today since my “internet” friends and I got to meet Mario Andretti last Friday night. Those internet friends who are truly friends “IRL” now, we got to meet an IRL legend and enjoy a night out together thanks to Casey. It was so much fun and eating dinner together after meeting Mario made me realize that even if I never blog again, these ladies will still be my friends.

And for that I’m extremely thankful.

Yo, just write.

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Internet Friends

  1. Yes, if I had to give up my blog tomorrow I’d have so much left in the form of friendships that I couldn’t really complain. (But I’d rather not give it up.) Thanks for coming, it was the best night out I’ve had in a LONG time.

  2. punkinmama says:

    So glad the internet brought me you! Wish I could have made it to this event, but I’m glad to know there will be many more in the future!

  3. At the end of the day the only blogging statistic that matters to me is the number of internet friends that have turned into real life friends. I feel so blessed that this number continues to grow. So much fun hanging out with you and the rest of the lovely ladies last Friday.

Leave a Reply

