Must-see Movies

My husband’s new thing is getting movies from the library. And since HE is the one reserving the movies, I’m seeing all sorts of movies that I would never pick out on my own. (Primarily because I’ve never heard of most of them.)

Since the weather is starting to get colder, and now that it’s dark at 6 o’clock, you’ll be spending more time inside. Hence, you need some new movies to see! So I’m sharing some movies that have made an impact on me.

Most are documentaries – which I’ll add, I never thought I’d enjoy. Boring, basically homemade, movies? Not for me. But I was completely wrong with these. Not all, I’ll admit, have been must-sees. But I won’t share those with you. I’ll just hold them over my husband’s head as he chooses new movies to reserve. 🙂

Drum roll please…

  1. Waiting for Superman: Okay, if you stop reading right now and only watch this one movie, I’ll be happy. This is an amazing and informative movie about the US educational system. It’ll make you mad and inspire you to know more and do more. It is absolutely the number 1 must-see in my opinion. Plus, it’s got music from John Legend. What more could you need?
  2. Inside Job: This movie is a very well-done, non-partisan documentary of the global economic crisis of 2008. I had NO IDEA of the relationships of the people in the financial industry and the government. Infiltrating BOTH political parties. It’s outrageous. And it’s narrated by Matt Damon – so it’s easy on your ears.
  3. Restrepo: I’ve written about this one before, but it’s worth mentioning again. It’s about the deployment of a platoon of U.S. soldiers in Afghanistan’s Korengal Valley. It’s such an eye-opener. Hard to watch, but really good. Interesting tidbit, the co-director of the movie, Tim Hetherington, was killed in April while covering the conflict in Libya.
  4. The Tillman Story: This is about the death of Pat Tillman, a professional football player who left the NFL to join the military because he felt it was the right thing to do. The movie states that the military manipulated his death in the line of duty into a propaganda tool. It’s pretty crazy. Like, crazy what probably happens more than you know and don’t WANT to know.
  5. The Pursuit of Happyness: Finally! Not a documentary! And you may wonder why I included this one. But seriously, it’s an amazing look at what a parent would do for a child and how one man could overcome SO. MUCH. to become something. It’s heartbreaking and inspiring. Caution: I cried through nearly the whole movie. So get some tissues.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on these movies if you’ve seen them (or once you do). Do you have any must-see movie suggestions for me? I keep reverting back to the goodies when I’m bored with TV – you know, like Pretty Woman and Hitched, so I’m sure my husband could use some help here.

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Must-see Movies

  1. Katie B. says:

    Love the movies Waiting for Superman and Inside Job – incredibly interesting! Waiting for Superman especially hit me, as I’m a product of Catholic schools, so I didn’t have a sense of what most kids go through in public schools. We’d also like to try homeschooling in the future, and this movie gave us some good moral fuel for that goal! Numbers 3 and 4 look pretty neat, we’ll try those out. Have you seen Food Inc? Also a really good documentary. Other than that, some of our rainy-day-must-sees around here are (in no order):
    1. Love Actually (sweet love stories intertwined, seen 1 billion times, but I still cry!)
    2. Pride & Prejudice (the newer one with Winona Ryder),
    3. 17 Again (I admit, I love Zach Efron and Chandler equally)
    4. Good Morning Vietnam (a funny Robin Williams one, and so good)
    5. You’ve Got Mail and Sleepless in Seattle (of course),
    6. To Kill a Mockingbird (always cry in that one too),
    7. Slumdog Millionaire (low budget indie that is incredibly good in many ways),
    8. The Blind Side (restores faith in humanity)
    9. Precious (an intense, yet moving story)
    10. Temple Grandin (great movie!)
    11. Changeling (just plain love it)
    12. P.S. I Love You (another crying love story)
    OK, I could go on… but that’s enough, right? Do you have any more good movies to recommend to us?

Leave a Reply

