Easy Pumpkin Seeds

My favorite part about Halloween is carving pumpkins. Not because my kids get super excited to design the carvings or seeing them lit up after all the hard work of carving those crazy designs.

It’s the seeds.

I absolutely LOVE pumpkin seeds. I crave them the second we start carving those pumpkins.

The problem? Each year I can’t remember how I roasted them the prior year. You’d think I’d learn and write it down, wouldn’t you?

Well, this year I am. Why? Because I tasted the best seeds at my mother-in-law’s last week and I don’t want to forget this recipe. She told me she got the recipe from a radio talk show YEARS ago. (Now, this isn’t a healthy “pack ’em in your kid’s lunch as a snack” recipe. It calls for 1/2 a stick of butter. But that’s why it’s SO. DARN. GOOD.)

And I’m sharing. Cuz I’m nice like that.

You’ll need:

  • 1.5 – 2 cups pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1 tbsp season salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  1. Rinse pumpkin seeds in a colander and lay out on a towel to dry a bit. (I patted mine down and then left them there for about an hour.)
  2. Preheat oven to 350*.
  3. Melt butter in a small saucepan over low heat.
  4. Turn off burner and add season salt and garlic powder. Mix well.
  5. Add pumpkin seeds and stir until completely coated.
  6. Spread in a single layer on an ungreased cookie sheet.
  7. Bake until lightly browned, stirring occasionally.

Now, the recipe says “lightly browned” will take 40-45 minutes. Mine were too toasty in 35 minutes, so I would suggest stirring at 20 minutes and then checking every 5-10 minutes for doneness.

I hope you love them as much as I do. This will be my go-to pumpkin seed recipe from now on.

Do you have a recipe for pumpkin seeds that you’d like to share? You know, because if it sounds really good, I’m sure my kids would love to carve another pumpkin. 🙂

 

I’m linking up with Things I Love Thursday over at The Diaper Diaries.

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

