Crayon hearts

We have so many broken crayons that I’m going crazy. I don’t want to just throw them away, but I hate keeping them around since they just don’t get used.

Then I came across this DIY crayon hearts craft on Pinterest. But just the pic. No written directions linked to the picture. So we thought we’d give it a try and write down directions for you all.

Have your kids go through all their crayons and pick out all the broken ones. Have them unwrap each one.

While they are unwrapping, chop the crayons into small pieces.

Place all the chopped pieces into a bowl.

Have your kids fill mini heart-shaped tins. No need to grease the pan. Just put them in as-is.

Don’t overfill, just to the top.

Bake at 230* for 15 minutes. (Be careful pulling them out. They will be complete liquid.)

Let cool and solidify for a few hours on your stovetop or cooling racks. Once solid, they’ll pull away slightly from the edges of the pan, just enough to pop out with your fingernail.

And here’s the final product!

Seriously, these were SO easy to do and the girls had a blast. And believe me, I’m not the craft mom I imagine all kids want. THIS is easy. And fun.

(I think this would be super cute for Valentine’s Day. Or if you have tins for Halloween! Or any other holiday for that matter. What a great gift for classmates that doesn’t cost a thing.)

For other great Valentine’s Day ideas, look here and here.

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crayon hearts

  1. Casey Ann says:

    Very creative, now instead of throwing the broken crayons away as I find them, I will make a broken crayon “piggy bank” to put them in!

  2. Mary says:

    These turned out really cute!! We have made just plain muffin tin crayons, but I like the heart ones much better!

    Thanks for linking with “LOVE-ly Ideas”!

  3. Where did you find the heart shaped muffin trays?

  4. Michelle says:

    Does anyone know if this would work okay with Silicon Bakeware? Specifically the individual Wilton Heart Shaped Candy Molds. Thanks! 🙂 Very cute idea, love that you offered directions!

  5. Nancy says:

    I have been holdinng onto my kids crayons for years! My baby turned 21 yesterday and my oldest is 23 and i still can’t bring myself to give them away! Well, i now know what i will be doing with them! Thanks awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

