Cathartic. And weird.

My cousin emailed me the other day and told me that she’s going to start her own blog. She wrote “It’s cathartic isn’t it? weird though to think that you are openly sharing your thoughts with the public.”

Funny that she mentioned it because I was thinking about it just the night before.

To tell you the truth, I’m kinda weirded out by this whole blogging thing.  I mean, I put my thoughts out here and you read them. You have opinions based on what you have read. And then I see you in person. (Because I’m guessing that most of you are people I know and see regularly.)

Writing is cathartic for me. I don’t write about everything. There are some things that are better left to words between friends, like family issues or your sex life (or lack there of). But putting thoughts into words is good for my head, so they don’t keep spinning inside and festering into bigger issues than they are.

Here’s the problem: I’m not real current on blogging “manners” per se. Do we talk about things we write about when we see each other? Because it’s awkward to me when I see you and I don’t know if I can talk to you about what I wrote (or what you wrote).

I hope so. For me, writing is just the start. I want to have conversations, written and verbal. I want my written thoughts to spark opinions and ideas that need to be fleshed out. I want you to write about what you’ve read and experienced. But I also want you to verbally talk about it too.

So the next time you read my blog, don’t be scared to leave a comment. (You can even do it anonymously.)

And if you want, write more about it on your own blog. (I won’t think you “stole” my idea.) Then let me know so I can read it.

And further, if it’s something you keep thinking about, talk to me about it the next time we see each other. Most of the time it’s hard for me to open up unless prompted. (Remember this post?)  But if you prompt, I’m willing to try.

I’ll prompt you too. If you give me permission. 🙂

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cathartic. And weird.

  1. Beth says:

    Totally agree. I’m a newbie too and for me it is definitely about having a conversation. Written or verbal, it’s about connecting with others.

Leave a Reply

