I’m not a quitter.

I’m not running the Indianapolis Mini-Marathon in May.

There.  I said it.

I’m not even walking it.  And I’m okay with it.

I ran the mini in 2007 in my attempt to get into shape after #2 was born.  I started training when she was 5 1/2 months old and ran the race when she was almost 11 months old. And I said I’d never do it again.

Jump to 2010. While I was pregnant with Baby Jedi, I told a good friend that I’d run it with her this year. I thought it would be a great way to again get in shape. Baby Jedi would be almost 6 months old by race day. Must have been the hormones making me feel invincible.

But I’m not invincible.  And trying to train to run 13.1 miles on a newly babied and nursing body is a LOT harder than I thought it would be. 

I struggled with this decision for weeks.  I didn’t want to “quit” (as my husband believes I’m doing), but more importantly I didn’t want to let my friend down. Thankfully, she’s pretty amazing and doesn’t hate me for dropping out on her.

BUT, (oh yes, there’s a but, and it’s got 2 tt’s that you cannot miss bringin’ up my backside) I’m not going to let this stop me from getting in shape. Even though I’ve lost all my baby weight, my body is looking sad, just as it has for the last 9+ years when I gained those “Just Married!” 15 lbs that I can’t seem to get off.

I’m going to start yoga (thanks to Living Social and CITYOGA) and I’m committed to running in a 5k for Run for Congo Women the first weekend in April.

I’m also committed to not feeling like I’ve quit by not running the mini. I don’t have space in my head for more bad vibes. I have plenty of those to deal with already.

So Emily, fork over $62.05 friend.  The golden ticket is yours for the taking.

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m not a quitter.

  1. Beth says:

    Running any race is about doing something good for yourself. While I know it feels hard (bad) to change your mind, you are totally doing the right thing when you realize your own needs and choose to take care of yourself.

  2. Lynne Brown says:

    Oh my Kate . . .

    I won’t be running either. I have gotten somewhat out of shape since last year at this time because my treadmill broke. I am getting a new treadmill but don’t see myself running that many miles by May. I am proud of myself if I can get my butt exercising just a couple of times a week. I’m not even working and it’s hard to find time (that darn ebay). You have nothing to prove to anyone and you have a little one who needs you to the “nth” degree right now.

  3. I totally respect you! Pregnant and nursing moms have to do alot to also take care of themselves! Hopefully Adam can understand this!

Leave a Reply

