On being content…

I’ve realized that I’m not content with my life.

You already saw this in me? It was that obvious?

Apparently, because as I look back over the last few weeks, it is glaringly obvious to me. In retrospect. 

I’m good at seeing things in others – I’m perceptive, a good listener, offering up solutions to problems. This has pretty much been the sum of my adult life. Actually, you could probably say my *whole* life.

I don’t think any of those things are bad. I’m a compassionate person and really do love helping others. Here’s the thing: I do this without seeing similar symptoms in my own life.

I complain about marriage issues, parenting issues, work issues, on-and-on-and-on issues, without stepping back and seeing the root of the problem. Without listening to others when they speak into my life. Praying, without listening to GOD for the answer. I’m quick to “fix” the problem, but not to find a life-changing solution. Or to simply be content with the stage of life that I am in.

So here I am, asking for accountability from my community. Asking for God to help me listen for His response and for discernment in knowing if it’s really His response or the one I want it to be. Asking myself to take ownership of the issue, to see the root problem, to ask and listen for a solution. Most importantly, asking myself to be content with who and what I have.

It’s time to make a change. As Michael Jackson would say:

“I’m Gonna Make A Change,
For Once In My Life
It’s Gonna Feel Real Good,
Gonna Make A Difference
Gonna Make It Right . . .

You Got To . . .
Stand Up! Stand Up!
Stand Up!
Stand Up And Lift
Yourself, Now!”

(Yes, you’re going to be singing that song all day now. You’re welcome.)

Join me.

About Katie White

believer. wife. mom. friend. life in transition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

